T&T: Registration and taxes, new rules for WA state (for out of state boaters)
Wagner.Florida at verizon.net
Sat Apr 14 16:22:56 EDT 2007
I agree -- section 3, paragraph 11 still allows an out of state visitor to
WA to boat in the state for 60 days (plus 2 additional months for $25).
The law is designed to stop the purchase of a boat in WA and then taking it
elsewhere for a year or two and then returning to WA as a mechanism of
avoiding WA tax.
From: Larry H
Date: 4/14/2007 1:43:20 PM
To: Trawlers and Trawlering
Subject: Re: T&T: Registration and taxes, new rules for WA state (for out of
After reading the new law, I conclude that the $500 charge only applies to
non-residents buying a boat in Washington. After payment of the $500
instead of 8% sales tax, the non-resident can then keep their newly bought
boat in Washington for 12 months.
More information about the Trawlers-and-Trawlering